Home featured The (Unfinished) Battle for the Senate

The (Unfinished) Battle for the Senate


After the tumult of last week, most of the electoral uncertainty has been squared away — Joe Biden is president-elect, and Democrats have held on to their majority in the House. A crucial question remains, however: Who will control the Senate?

All eyes are on two unfinished races in Georgia, where runoff elections will be held in January.

The Democrats face a tall order: They must win both seats to have a Senate advantage. Will Mr. Biden have both houses of Congress on his side to implement his agenda? Or will he have to work with an upper chamber under Republican control?

With so much at stake, we look at how the runoffs in Georgia might shake out.

INSIDE THE DAILY For an exclusive look at how the biggest stories on our show come together, subscribe to our newsletter. Read the latest edition here.

Julie Hirschfeld Davis, congressional editor for The New York Times, talks us through what happened in the Senate elections and looks ahead to the two crucial races in Georgia.

ImageFrom left, the Republican senators Kelly Loeffler and David Perdue, and their Democratic rivals in Georgia, the Rev. Dr. Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff. Millions of dollars are expected to be thrown at their runoff races.
Credit…Jonathan Ernst/Reuters; Brynn Anderson/Associated Press

There are a lot of ways to listen to The Daily. Here’s how.

We want to hear from you. Tune in, and tell us what you think. Email us at thedaily@nytimes.com. Follow Michael Barbaro on Twitter: @mikiebarb. And if you’re interested in advertising with “The Daily,” write to us at thedaily-ads@nytimes.com.

Julie Hirschfeld Davis contributed reporting.

The Daily is made by Theo Balcomb, Andy Mills, Lisa Tobin, Rachel Quester, Lynsea Garrison, Annie Brown, Clare Toeniskoetter, Paige Cowett, Michael Simon Johnson, Brad Fisher, Larissa Anderson, Wendy Dorr, Chris Wood, Jessica Cheung, Stella Tan, Alexandra Leigh Young, Lisa Chow, Eric Krupke, Marc Georges, Luke Vander Ploeg, Kelly Prime, Sindhu Gnanasambandan, M.J. Davis Lin, Austin Mitchell, Neena Pathak, Dan Powell, Dave Shaw, Sydney Harper, Daniel Guillemette, Hans Buetow, Robert Jimison, Mike Benoist, Bianca Giaever, Liz O. Baylen, Asthaa Chaturvedi, Rachelle Bonja, Alix Spiegel, Diana Nguyen, Marion Lozano and Soraya Shockley. Our theme music is by Jim Brunberg and Ben Landsverk of Wonderly. Special thanks to Sam Dolnick, Mikayla Bouchard, Lauren Jackson, Julia Simon, Mahima Chablani, Nora Keller, Sofia Milan and Desiree Ibekwe.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here